GTalk – Show current music track

7

Sunday, May 13, 2007 by Nandu

It’s been couple of weeks, I tried, I searched (din’t find it), I tried again, I searched again (din’t find it again), I Tried Again, I Searched Again (din’t find it AGAIN)..

GTalk  on my laptop was not displaying the current music track (I use Windows Media Player) despite of selecting ‘Show current music track’ in available mode. Tried in busy mode, din’t work.

Searched the themes templates.. din’t find any keyword related to current music track..

I searched on Internet.. but things discussed were related to Music trends not going in to search history … wasn’t related to my problem..

Dug up registry, din’t find anything related to current music track, in here either.

Finally, I found the solution today, of course on  Internet:

GTalk shares a plug-in (gtalkwmp1.dll) with Windows Media Played and this is how understands when a music track is changed.

All I had to do was Go To Windows Media Player>Tools Menu>Options>Plugins tab>Background> Select the Google Talk Music Plugin.

Voila, things worked as expected !!!

Well, I still don’t understand how it was unselected.

7 thoughts on “GTalk – Show current music track

  1. Vick says:

    The above solution doesnt WORK with windows media player 11……..i m trying to find a solution, but cant find any, i think this option is disabled……….if u find it, then let us all know…cheers..Vick

  2. Daisy says:

    Thank you🙂

  3. Akshat says:

    well on windows media player 11 ..its workin !!!

  4. Gaurav Kishan says:

    Thanks ..It worked for me…..

  5. Sunny says:

    If Windows Media Player or your Windows desktop crashes, Windows Media Player will disable all plug-ins, including the music-status plug-in for Google Talk. To re-enable the Google Talk plug-in, follow these steps:

    1. Open Windows Media Player.
    2. From the View menu, select Plug-ins > Options…
    3. From the Category section of the Plug-ins tab, select Background.
    4. Select the Google Talk Music Plugin checkbox.
    5. Click OK.

    You’ll need to close and restart Windows Media Player for the change to take effect.

  6. STA says:

    so Thanks Geek!

Leave a Reply

