Sharepoint Solution Deployment using VS 2005 Extension Issues

5

Thursday, September 18, 2008 by Nandu

I was trying to test some feature by using the WSS Extension for Visual Studio 2005. Each time I made changes to the feature I Deployed (right click on project and click Deploy) the WSS extension Deploy option.

After a while I got error like

“The feature name [Feature Name] already exists in SharePoint. You need to rename the feature before solution deployment can succeed.”

I had no clue of what this meant.

My friend suggested to delete the feature file from the 12 hive’s Features folder. For me this was “C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\TEMPLATE\FEATURES”.

After deleting this folder I tried to deploy the feature again however this time I for this error

“The solution can not be deployed.  Directory “Clinical Trials” associated with feature ‘b39c3bcd-be4e-4812-8020-30c4579e1f4f’ in the solution is used by feature ‘d59221b9-e10f-4977-891a-1a4ffcbfc7bb’ installed in the farm. All features must have unique directories to avoid overwriting files.”

Another friend asked me to use the command

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>stsadm -o uninstallfeature -id d59221b9-e10f-4977-891a-1a4ffcbfc7bb

Which resulted into this

Operation completed successfully.

I thought things are good to go, however on click of Deploy I got the following error:

An object of the type Microsoft.SharePoint.Administration.SPSolution named “[SolutionName].wsp” already exists under the parent Microsoft.SharePoint.Administration.SPFarm named “SharePoint_Config”.  Rename your object or delete the existing object.

After searching for a while I found that I had to:

  1. Go to Central Administration> Operations > Solutions Management
  2. Select the faulty feature solution and Retract it.
  3. After it was retracted, I deleted the Solution again from the Central Administration.

This finally resolved the issue. Hopefully this helps others too.

I’ve never had a good experience with Sharepoint.

5 thoughts on “Sharepoint Solution Deployment using VS 2005 Extension Issues

  1. Abdallah Mossad says:

    Thank you very much , i have run to the same issue and i waste about 10 hour in it , this post really helped me a lot .

    Thanks again

  2. Thanks a lot for sharing this information ! I had the same problem on my development machine.

  3. Abel says:

    Thanks a lot for your post,

    I had this issue suddenly and in many other posts, even in msdn-related, there were comments recommending re-installation and that there was no solution for this bug.

    Thanks again for dedicating time to publish the solution after you had it solved.

    Best regards.

  4. Jorge says:

    Thanks a bunch….you’re post was extremely helpful.

  5. HieuSuTuDien says:

    Thank you very much, I’m very happy when completely fix my bug.Thanks

Leave a Reply

